Needs more wolves.

Adventures in Shadowfang Keep

Well this is new and exciting! I’m here, I’m excited! If you stand too near the door at the front, it pulls a pat. If you panic and back up – you back out of the instance and get teleported back to the Exodar. Then you say “OMG OMG OMG” while frantically trying to click on the “Teleport back to instance” button.

When you get back, act cool as if you meant to do it, nobody will know the difference.

Shadowfang Keep has, um, wow. A lot of stairs, a lot of worgen. Worgen, stairs, ghosts – wtf was that a ghost horse? worgen, stairs… Bear tank says “I have to go, guys, my dad needs the computer.”

Priest and Rogue turn to look at me.

“…Why is everyone looking at me? Well sure, I can wear plate, but I don’t… you know, that’s not really what I…”

“…”

I finish SFK as the ‘tank’ while Voss looks over my shoulder shouting, “That one got away from you! Are you turning with your keyboard? OK now taunt it. If they pull aggro it’s their own fault. Let that guy die.”

Amazingly, we finish with no wipes or deaths. I very decidedly unselect ‘tank’ from my random group options and toss myself back in.

Shadowfang Keep…again
Well sure, RNG, I guess I could run SFK again. If you insist. Crap, I aggroed that pat by the door again. Aaand, why am I getting a loading screen…? Oh right. That’s the entrance door, again. This group was a mixed bag. Our valiant pink-haired gnome warrior lead was tanking but not with any real zeal. At one point a shield dropped and I greeded assuming he’d take it – great shield, right? For tanking? He passes and says, “Nice shield, too bad I’m Fury lol.” He did not badly at holding aggro though, for a guy in battle stance with a two-hander. I guess at lower levels it doesn’t really matter too much.

I’m starting to dread running into hunters in these things. One hunter only brought out his pet about halfway through the instance. We’d pull a group, and he’d run in to start DPS – with his axe. He need rolled on [Some Cloth Thing Of The Owl]. I tried to see if I could out-DPS the pair of them but we had too many reckless pulls where I had to heal a great deal. (Glyph of Holy Light is WIN). This tank was nice about waiting for mana when I asked him, but it was always a surprise to him. He’d say, “Oh, k.” I imagine his thought process: “What? Why are we stopping? Where is my healer? You need to refill that funny blue bar? Why is that? Oh it powers your SPELLS. So it’s like rage. Only more like… peaceful? Okay, we can do that.”

Five minutes later “Mana, wait please.”
“What? Why are we stopping? What’s with you and the blue bar, can’t you just hit something and fill it up? No? Siiiigh.”

Arugal turned me into a worgen and for a moment I was inexplicably in Silverpine, and a worgen.

Shadowfang Keep – why do something else when you could do it again?

Another bear tank, this one stuck with us until the end. He said, “Just to let you guys know, I haven’t done this before.”

I told him, “You’re in luck, because this is my third time today!” I know all about the worgen. And the stairs. And the other worgen.

This group actually sort of redeemed the other ones. We had a nearly silent ret pally who asked quietly (I don’t know how she did it quietly, but somehow) if she could Need on an axe that dropped. We had a good hunter, everyone dinged at least once during the instance (including the wolf, “Buddy”) and much fun was had by all.

I can’t think of anything else noteworthy that happened. I think some wolves were killed.

Notes for next time: I’m level 22 now! My mana is lasting longer and I really don’t need to drink as much as I did. As Jorah observed, I could go to BFD to tackle some elite murlocs. You might think that with all of this pugging I’ve got quite a lot of blue gear drops – you would be wrong. I did snag a leather belt upgrade and like… some cloth gloves that had more int than the ones I had, yes they have spirit, yes I know that’s bad, but they were better! I know better than to expect spellpower mail, though – I remember what it was like with my elemental shaman. So I’ll make do with what I can as we go along, and someday a long time from now spellpower plate shall drop and I will say IN YOUR FACE because only another plate wearer can roll Need on it… And I’ll lose the roll to a DK.

Wait times to kill wolves are still under a minute. My flashy heals are much in demand!

2 responses to “Needs more wolves.

  1. Hi, I like to say i am pretty much enjoying reading about your adventures using the Random Dungeon or LFD for short. It really makes me feel better after going through my own ordeal as a resto druid at 80. I know it might not be the same thing, as leveling you dont have access to so many spells but let me tell you the level of stupidity i have had in groups is amazing by far. Like today, I random dungeon for a group in H AN. As soon as i zoned into the instance the group is well near the second boss area, so i start making my way down toward them as the people in the group say that I will be tanking the instance. At this point i really think they are joking about that since i dont have feral spec, I didnt even have check tanking in the LFD, just healer. Anyhow I am usually very patient with groups so as i made my way to them, I repeatively told them “I think you guys are kidding i am resto i dont have a feral spec. You know as in HEALER.” Apparently the Spider boss had glitched and it was standing near the bottom waiting for the group, Why? I dont really know but needless to say as soon as i got closed we got attacked and they we shouting in party saying how i should tank this, so yeah we wiped. As i run back they started bitching about how i owe them 10 gold for repairs as if it was my fault. So this time as run in the instance to get my body and decided i would at least try to buff them before i go… well the two pallies , the hunter and rogue were waiting on me so i could go rezz them where they died, meaning where the spider boss was with the place full of mobs. Luckily I guess i have to think of like that my character had the block trades checked so they couldnt trade with me but, the last straw came when one of the pallies i need to get on bear form and tank for them. To which i repeated again “i dont have a feral spec i cant tank this. i am a healer” . To which one of the pally replied ” I don’t care get on bearform or leave” “GO PULL” or We will vote you out”. At that point, I said ” Fine” and left the group.

    Bottomline i am still scratching my head as to why LFD put me in a group where the tank had left. I guess it can be a glitch. My guildies did come up with a good theory for my ordeal: According to them it is quite possible that one of the people in the group was also checked as the tank and Random Dungeon that if they brought in a healer that person would switch in to the tank role. *sighs*

    I can understand that the groups are very impersonal so no one even says hi or better yet the tank doesnt wait for anyone to even buff or get ready, they are so in a rush to finish the instance in less than 15 minutes that if the tank could pull the whole instance he would. v.v

    Anyhow i want to repeat i enjoy your blog, i am glad i found it, thank you for sharing.

  2. Pingback: The Odyssey « Pugging Pally

Leave a Reply

