SM: Did you know it can also mean ‘sadism’ and ‘masochism’?

My SM-go-round has indeed progressed now from Graveyard to Library. I was so stunned by this turn of events, in fact, that initially I didn’t know where I was. I stumbled blindly down the stairs and almost into the first pair of Scarlets. They were happy to see me.

Fortunately no paladins died as a result of this overzealous exuberance, but let this be a lesson to you: sometimes, to blog about the stupid pugger, you must become him/her.

I was quite happy to trade Graveyard for Library, because it’s an infinitely more interesting instance. I can’t help remembering how epic all the SM instances felt to me the first time I saw them, and before I really knew much about what instances were. Now, they’re still pretty short but definitely more challenging than the previous ones. There are opportunities for LoS pulls, tightly packed trash, runners, mayhem! My runs for the most part went quite well, except for one thing; SM seems to be bringing out more jerks than the other instances. I’m not sure why this is. I’m not going to detail every single PUG I have at this point, because it would take me years to write this blog and they wouldn’t be happy ones. Instead, I will summarize: I ran SM Library five times since my last post. Of those five times, these are the interesting things that happened:

Some people don’t understand the concept of ‘don’t pull crap when your healer is nowhere near you.’ Or rather, the same tank who kept attacking and then turning his back on mobs to run to more mobs and getting dazed (to say nothing of making that shield he’s carrying less than worthless) – that same tank couldn’t grasp that when it comes to the narrow corridors just before Doan, it’s maybe better not to run to the left and act like you’re going to fight those mobs – and then head over to the right to get THOSE mobs… leaving your healer trying to reach you, but on the other side of a big pillar. On the occasion, I remarked, “In retrospect, it might not have been such a good idea to pull all of those mobs and then break LoS with your healer.” The tank said nothing, the mage laughed though. (No matter which guise I’m wearing, I love my fellow dress-wearing people.)

So there was that guy. In a different run, I realized I have not yet set up my Vuhdo bars to show pets. This is a gripe I have with Vuhdo, btw. I love it in most other respects. But why is the option to show pet bars hidden away in some sub-sub-option menu that I can’t remember? And why can’t I change things while in combat? It’s easy enough for me to keep spamming Flash of Light while I browse through healing addon menus, and I’ve done it before with others. Vuhdo is kind of like my Mom. “Pay attention to what you’re doing!” or maybe better- “What do you mean you can’t find it? If I stop what I’m doing to go and look, and it’s there…”

Anyway, so I realized I wasn’t displaying pets when one of the people in the group emoted /crying. I looked around blankly. What? Then I realized, “Hm, it’s the hunter who is crying. Oh, look at that, his pet has low health. Perhaps I let it die. I knew I was forgetting something. But I can’t open Vuhdo to make it display pets. I’ll just target it manually, and…WHAT. THE. HELL.”

My friends, that pet did not receive a heal. Not at that moment, and not for the duration of the instance. Why? I’m going to tell you now. That innocent-seeming, non-descript Darkshore tiger’s name?

“PetWussy.”

And that about sums up my SM Lib experiences so far. The fifth one I actually did today, and it marked a turning point in my pugging career: I got irritated enough that I dropped group. Yes, I left the pug. Why? Well, it was an accumulation of things.

It started with the warrior who, while well-meaning, didn’t really know what he was doing. And the whiny mage. We were on the second pull and he was bawling, “WHY U GO SO FAST I NEED MANA.”¬† He’s apparently labouring under the illusion that tanks give a crap about the DPS’ mana – I can’t even get them to care about my mana! I suggested that he might want to try drinking before engaging the mobs, so he can top up while we’re fighting. He said, “I don’t have time, but thanks for the advice.” If you don’t have time to sit and drink after combat drops, there’s not much I can do for you. But whatever, I roll with it.

In the little courtyard there, things start to get mildly hairy. The hunter and the warlock are bound and determined that we should move fast, very fast, despite the warrior’s ineptitude at handling this speed. Yes, they are pulling for him. I hear tanks really like that, right? One less thing they have to worry about.

So we’re dealing with trash packs the tank hasn’t even seen, I presume. Like the Scarlet priest that latched onto me after the warlock pulled him but he liked my healing aggro. The poor thing thought that Smite is a viable option, and so he was trying very hard to kill me. Smite. Smite. I’m thinking, “The tank is going to see this mob here casting at me. Any time. Annnytime now.” It’s when he starts to move towards Houndmaster Whosits there that I get a bit twitchy. I suppose that I could have healed the group with an angry caster on my back, but really, should I have to? I ask to have the mob removed from my business area. The group manages that and we carry on, blundering through the instance. I’ve fixed my hotkeys a little bit so it’s easier for me to cast Hand of Salv and Blessing of Protection, and I’m glad I did because this group needs it. The mage tanked at least half of it, at least the ones he wasn’t frost novaing in the middle of nowhere.

Meantime, the hunter is still experiencing SM rage. “Pull, fuck,” he says, and “Fucking GO,” among others. I can only imagine what he’s like in heavy cross-town traffic. The warlock tells him to chill out. The hunter tells the warlock, “Bro, you can go eat a fat dick.” Things are heading south fast. I didn’t say anything about this at the time, figuring we’re almost done the instance, I’ll just wait it out. But then we hit The Last Room.

I’m beginning to loathe this room. Between the mobs that silence, runners, tightly packed groups¬† – and let’s face it, PUGS – this room is rife with potential for disaster and it doesn’t disappoint. We’re finishing off the second to last pack, I think things are going well, and then I hear it: “You will not defile these mysteries!”

Mysteries? We aren’t defiling any mysteries! At least not until we’re done dealing with your flunkys… But of course, someone couldn’t wait that long. Someone thought we’d get done faster if they pulled Doan while we weren’t yet “done.” Someone was very wrong, and I add another death to my sidebar.

I say, “Seriously, who pulled Doan while we were still fighting the last trash pack?”

Warlock says, “You.”

“Oh really. From the middle of the room, I pulled Doan? He must have liked my face.”

Warlock: “lol he did.”

I decide to balance the weight of the oh-so-valuable Tumultuous Necklace [Of The Monkey] I expect to get at the end of the run, and just cut my losses. Before I’ve even run back from the graveyard, I type back, “It was either you or the Tourette’s hunter that pulled him, and I have better things I could be doing with my time. Enjoy pulling the last room and the boss with a different healer.”

Yes, I ragequit a group for SM Library. It doesn’t bode well for the future. In my defense, it was nearly lunchtime.

No, I’m Really A Paladin, I swear by the Naaru. Oh, you aren’t supposed to swear by the Naaru? Well sh**.

In other news, the armory has all these cool new features! I’ve added an RSS feed to the sidebar to show you all the badass things I do, like becoming a professional expert or equipping some awesome loot. Which I actually don’t do; the lastany loot I was excited about was this ugly green belt in Blackfathom Deeps. I’m not sure if the code for including an image of a character works in WordPress, but I’ve taken a picture for you all anyway.

I have a confession to make. I’m not a paladin at all.

At least, you’d never know it to look at poor Vid, in her awkward ‘Am I wearing my underwear over my pants ‘ pants (at least they’re mail) and her hand-me-down shaman gear. There is no spellpower heirloom plate. The boots are cloth, I’m reasonably certain the wrists and gloves are cloth. She’s got weenie-roasting forks on her shoulders, and she can’t even say “They help me keep in touch with the elements,” because the only element she knows anything about is randomness. Possibly an element of stupidity.

In all of my Holy glory, I’m afraid I look more like Stormwind’s bag lady, Queen of Dumpster Diving. I’m sure half the pugs I do don’t know the difference – they probably just figure I’m the world’s worst shaman – never drops totems – and the other half just wants me to give them Any Blessing Other Than The Blessing I Just Gave Them.

My biggest motivator to make it to 80, really, is just so that I can put on clothes that fit more with my notion of the shining paragon of virtue I envision paladins to be. Outland still lies between me and that goal, though – I can’t wait to see what kind of radioactive colors I can put on when I’m level 58! Unfortunately, my weenie-forks and vest will be with me all the way. Unless I snap and go ret before then, which I vow I will not do, if only for the sake of pure, cussed stubbornness.

Oh, the shame.

21 responses to “SM: Did you know it can also mean ‘sadism’ and ‘masochism’?

  1. Darn it but I can’t help but enjoy the bjeebers out of these posts. Even more so since I started down the same route as a new priest healer at the beginning of the year. Everything that you’re going through, the humour, the pain, the sadness and frustration, all of it I’ve witnessed at some point or another. And that’s just levels 10-20! What’s driving me slightly crazier than usual is your writing simultaneously urges me on, and reminds me what a mad notion this whole “levelling-by-dungeons” really is, and I’m still not sure if I have the mental stamina to reach 21, let alone SM. Perhaps I’ll continue to live life vicariously through you and thank the heavens I at least have an 80 waiting for me next time I log in. Could be the sanest decision of the new decade.

    • I sure couldn’t fault you any. I might actually have to instate a few sanctioned cheats along the way – I’d love to do the pally mount quest. The XP is really very good this way, but the ‘sanity check’ is quite high.

  2. My first attempt to tank SM Library left me swearing to never tank again (due to DPS like you mentioned above who think pulling for the tank is fun). I’ve since decided that in a certain sadistic mood I can enjoy it. I look forward to reading more of your humorous journey.

  3. Regarding the gear, how sad is it that I immediately recognised those boots? And I haven’t even been to Gnomer in years. Also, take comfort in the fact that you’re probably still a lot better geared than people would usually be at that level, even if you look ridiculous.

    • You’re absolutely right, Shintar. I should count my blessings and wear my silly shoulders with pride. Besides – who else is awesome for a camping trip? Weenie roast, marshmallows – got everybody covered.

  4. I’ve taken to manually queueing for dungeons, so I can do orange-difficulty dungeons, when I dislike the yellow selection. That’s how I avoided just doing SM:Graveyard for two levels. The random rewards are usually terrible (300 xp and an amulet of the monkey! hooray!).

    The last boss in SM:Lib can by pulled by one of the mobs running away into the final guy’s room, or at least I think I’ve seen that before. Maybe that’s what happened.

    I’d have tried to vote out the foulmouth guy. DPS needs to learn some respect! ;)

    • Ohhh. You know, that’s a good point. I’d go back in time and apologize, except that I wouldn’t, since they’d been jerks the whole instance.

      Maybe I will start voting to get rid of offensive people – whatever role they’re filling!

  5. My baby bear just started getting Graveyard in her rotation, and it seems you’re right about this level range bringing out the worst in people. Hunters pulling? Check. Warlocks life tapping nearly to death, and then demanding healing? Check. “Gogogo?” Check.

    Like any rage-user, I love a nice, smooth chain pull. But since I mostly play healers, I’m keenly aware of my healer’s mana bar, and I’ll stop for breaks whenever I see they’re in need, even if they don’t say. The trouble is, some people won’t stop with me, and we wind up with the next group anyway. :-( I’m not naming any names here, but if you have Auto Shot in your spellbook, you know who you are.

    I enjoy tanking, and it’s fun to meet new people, but inconsiderate DPS are really making me question whether the fun I’m having is worth the stress and aggravation of grouping at all. Grr!

    • I still maintain that about half the people I meet who are jerks? Hunters. The other half? Warlocks. I can’t help but notice!

      It’s unfortunate to hear that your experiences are turning you off grouping. :( It’d be nice if I actually ran into any of the great people who’ve commented here in my pugging adventures. You’d wait while I drank, I’d heal you, everyone would be happy! Not muce to write about, though…

      • Sadly, we seem to be in different battle groups (Whirlwind here)…otherwise I’d love to pug with you anytime! :-)

  6. These pugging experiences with your shaman are a delightful read! ;)

  7. I ask to have the mob removed from my business area.

    That made me laugh a little too much – I think I should macro that somewhere.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this post (even though it’s at your expense) – both parts! :D

    • I actually have to give credit where it is due; a friend of mine who worked at a coffee shop told a story about how he was training a guy who spoke English as a second language. And he said, “If someone is bugging you, you can tell them they are ‘all up in your business.’”

      So a few days later the fellow says to him, “Oh, Alex, I am sorry, I’m in your business area.”

      What can I say, it stuck! It was our arena team name, too. :D

  8. The problem is indeed that many people see the classic dungeons as 15-minute heroics. While this goes for Graveyard or Library perhaps, some of the other dungeons are simply too large to clear in this time.

    I shudder at the thought of them trying to race Sunken Temple or Blackrock Depths…

    Having DPS “go go go” on me when I am pally tanking irks me something righteous, especially when it is in Uldaman and the mage and hunter decide to fill up my empty consecrate with mobs by pulling two different packs from two sides of the room.

    Cornerpulling is another forgotten technique. So forgotten in fact that when I said “I will pull them around the corner, wait with DPS until they reach me” only results in them opening fire when the mobs are halfway into the hallway. It’s no fun having to pull mobs off two people while braving a caster standing several yards away. But hey, their funeral if it fails.

    My tank is currently 42 (leveling on off hours) and I already had the joy of tanking for a group in Maraudon Orange – yes, the level 46-47 one. With a level 45 group. With a ret pally taunting mobs off me. He got my Hand of Protection so bad several times, I just wanted to slap him. I offered him the tanking role in case he thought he was badass enough for it, but he declined (sadly).

    I hope to get more lovely experiences like this, because nothing prepares enough rage for my raid DPS than doing this right before a raid. ^_^

    Oh and by the way, a set of plate healing shoulders do exist, but no idea if they are better than the heirloom you have: http://www.wowhead.com/?item=44100

    I am sure they are not ideal for healing, but it sounds like you might appreciate the stamina. :)
    200 Stonekeeper Shards and they’re yours.

  9. OMG Vidyala – the undies on the outside look only works for super heroes :)

    I am laughing so hard atm!

  10. Oi, the panties on the outside – I have that on my baby warrior, too, and I hate it. :-P I’m quite positive I didn’t get rid of that look on my 73 paladin – she still has undies over fishnets. It’s very wierd to have plate pants that look like that.

    After reading through your blog yesterday, I was inspired to finally, finally start my own “LFD beyotch” project. I figured I’d give myself a little bit of a break and do a priest, since that’s what I know inside and out (well, I know shamans too, and druids, but hell if I’m going to level as a healer without chain heal or tree form!) No shadow talents – I’d solely be a healer leveling through LFD.

    So last night I started up a priest on a new server (an RP one just for kicks, since I’ve never done that before .. it was interesting) and leveled him (blood elf) to 11.

    Then, THEN, I got the absolutely horribly brilliant idea to do my leveling with ZERO questing.

    Which means that my level 11 priest is a bust and I have to start over. :-P

    So tonight, if I have time (it’s raid night), I’ll roll a new NEW priest and start over, no questing, only killing mobs until I hit 15. It’s going to be torture until 10 – I’ll probably start hitting up WSG from 10-15 to break the cycle of grinding mobs.

    When I’m done, my achievements panel will say “Level 80, ZERO quests completed.”

    And then I’ll wake up, because I’m not sure I can quite live through it all. But I’ll try tonight, in any case!

    Anyway, I always blabber on about myself in other people’s comments – I loved your latest post, of course, and I’m with Argon – I would have tried to vote kick the hunter.

    And I agree with you – hunters and warlocks seem to be the worst. And “gogogo” makes me want to tear my hair out for sure.

    • And they called me sick, D. I bow to your greater commitment to punishing yourself with monotony. ;) Once you get to level 15, though, it’ll be smooth sailing. Well… perhaps not, but you’re reading this so you’ve some idea what to expect!

      How did you like the RP server? It’s a little-known-not-so-much-a-secret that I was actually on an RP server for two years before I transferred to my current server to join a more raid-oriented group. It was a bit of culture shock at first being on a PvE server, I’m curious how that works in reverse.

  11. First, obligatory remark on how you really seem to find the worst people on teh intarnets, somehow; Compared to this, my going’s just insanely smooth.

    But! I see your gear’s allright, armor class notwithstanding, but how do you go about grabbing cloth and leather with SP? Do you get flak for needing on stuff below your max armor type?

    And do you actually have mana issues when the party is halfway competent? I mean, horror stories are good reads, but I assume once a blue moon you actually have a run that doesn’t make you pull out your hair, yes? I find that the two stacks of drinks I bought the second I could use L25 drinks are now in danger of becoming outdated before I can finish them!

    And no, this is not because I have ever gotten drinks from a mage.

    Ever.

    • Toes, I do still struggle somewhat with mana and trying to decide between Improved Blessing of Wisdom or Kings (Kings gives me so much more mana to start… but Imp. BoW might help me last longer). As I reached each tier of drinks, I’d buy around 60 or more. I finished the stack of nectar I had and can finally drink Moonberry Juice! It was taking 2-3 drinks to even come close to filling up my mana pool.

      As for the cloth/leather, it’s mostly greens I ended up buying on the AH. The leather belt I have, I got when nobody else in the party could wear leather/was a caster (I think we had a rogue). Other than that, I will only need on cloth/leather if there is no one in the party who would ‘Need’ on it also. I’ve run each instance enough times that usually this happens eventually – the cloth wearer doesn’t need it and nobody objects when I ask if I may. :)

  12. Pingback: The Odyssey « Pugging Pally

Leave a Reply

