Tuesday Art Day: Haz Mace, Will Raid

I’ve been trying to expand the range of WordPress options that I’m using, specifically when it comes to displaying images and any other media. For the Well-Dressed Paladin contest I thought the gallery display was rather successful. It was nice that folks could comment on individual images and scroll through them at their own pace.

I think the same function might work well for Tuesday Art Posts, but let me know if it’s more cumbersome. I usually put the images in the body of a post, as in Rhidach’s post.

After I’d posted the aforementioned banner done for Rhidach, I received a comment and e-mail from Antigen of Haz Mace, Will Raid. He was interested in a banner of his own. He’d been wanting to revamp his blog’s colour scheme and wanted something a bit more custom. In order to reflect his dualistic paladin nature, the banner he was imagining had two versions of his character: a protection version, and a retribution one.

Throughout the course of working with him I’d switch back and forth between the two – first spending some time on one and checking in with him, then working on the other while I waited to hear back. It actually worked quite well!

Most of my usual narrative is contained in the gallery captions and descriptions, so you can browse through them there. The final banner image looked like so:

Blinded by the Light! Then the next line I just mumble because I never understand what he's saying.

You can also see the finished banner at Antigen’s site, in place! They always look better in place. This commission was a unique challenge and quite a bit of fun. Many thanks to Antigen for asking me to do it in the first place. More art leads to more blog posts and I’m sure that’s a good thing. I’ve been hard at work on the images for contest winners so expect to see those in the next few weeks as well. Until then, remember, retribution paladins… BY NO MEANS RELAX, or your DPS will decrease. It’s been proven. I have no advice for protection paladins, maybe someone who plays one can oblige.

5 responses to “Tuesday Art Day: Haz Mace, Will Raid

  1. Blinded by the light! Then the next line I just mumble because I never understand what he’s saying.

    I blame Bruce Springsteen for that.

    It just occurred to me that you’ve got a lot of Blood Elf work these days. This can’t sit well with your stable of Draenei toons… ;-)

  2. God, that paladin is really sexy, and so fierce too…

    Uh, what was I going to say? Oh yeah, it was great to work with you, Vid! Even though my artistic talent died years ago in a junior high classroom, I really felt like I was a part of things, making suggestions, you working with them and turning them into something palpable; I was actually kind of sad when it was all over. But now I have a quality banner tailored to my liking! So it works out.

    Thanks again!

  3. I remember looking at Rhidach’s banner and thinking about your sketches! Awesome work as ever! :-)

  4. See, now you’ve got me going “Hm, I wonder if I can commission something for MY blog… I could use a nice new banner that isn’t just a capped piece of official WoW art…”

    >.>

    How do you do this, anyway, by what you’re interested in? Monetary commission?

  5. I’ve always loved your art, especially your colouring.

    It’s entertaining to see how you’re doing it – especially because you seem to finish some steps much quicker than I do. (I tend to overwork, unfortionally) Say, how exactly are you doing the flat colour? Are you using masks or just solid blocks + bucket fills?

Leave a Reply

