The Well-Dressed Paladin: A Pugging Pally Contest!


As Vid leveled her way through Azeroth, Outland, and beyond, it’s no big secret that she hated the clothes she was wearing as she did it. (She did, I did, we all hated them). They were weenie roasting forks. They didn’t say “paladin.” They had no glorious golden light, no panache.

“When I am level 80,” I vowed, “I will have awesome paladin gear and it shall be grand.” I think I’ve fulfilled that, but it’s been floating around in my mind since then. Paladins are one of the most distinctive and interesting looking classes in the game. Think about it. You know when one goes by if you see that Charger (both Horde and Alliance versions). They’re wearing bananas, or they’re dressed like a Power Ranger, or they have skulls on their shoulders that look like a skeleton pope. Love ’em or hate ’em, you’ll usually recognize them.

I happen to be of the opinion that paladin fashion has so much potential, and that’s where you come in.

The Well-Dressed Paladin: The Contest

I want to see your best paladin fashion; whatever look you think is the best paladin gear ever. This doesn’t have to be gear specifically for paladins, although it can be. It doesn’t have to be a set, although again, it can be. It could also be any combination of plate, mail, even leather or cloth if you can justify it.

You don’t have to be a paladin to enter. You’re fully welcome to express your vision for paladin awesomeness, even if you don’t have the foresight to be playing one. I highly recommend the use of WoW Model Viewer. You can pose characters, look at all of the weapons/armour in the game, and even import your character or another from the armory. If you don’t have a paladin yourself, you can use Vidyala as a model. She won’t mind. (I’m not judging it, so I won’t be swayed by preference towards my own character, incidentally). If you do actually possess the in-game gear you want to use, by all means, in-game screen-shots are fine. Heck, if there isn’t anything in the game that epitomizes what you think the best paladin gear would look like, and you’re artistic – draw your own!

To enter, you will need:

  • 1-3 full body screenshots or images in jpeg format of your paladin fashion, either in-game or from something external like WoW Model Viewer. If you’re using the model viewer, plain backgrounds (e.g. either black or white) are preferred. The blog, you’ll note, is white. Things that have white backgrounds look good on it.
  • a short description, explanation or story about why your outfit is so awesome, what paladin specialization it’s for (if you like, e.g. “Best Paladin gear for smashing faces.” Be as creative or expansive as you like!
  • a list of the actual gear items you used, so that 1) I can reproduce the outfit if I need to for blog material, or so people can actually re-create it in-game if they so wish. (We’re spreading paladin fashion one item at a time). Please use full and accurate item names so it’s easy to look up and find them, e.g. “Saronite Gargoyle Cloak,” or “Boots of the Divine Light.” Especially with tier gear, there’s a lot of naming overlap so exact item names helps avoid confusion.

That’s it! Entries should be sent to puggingpally AT gmail DOT com, with “The Well-Dressed Paladin” or some variation in the subject line. I don’t want to lose any entries to the spam folder.

The Well-Dressed Paladin: The Prizes

Yes, prizes! Depending on the number of entries I get, judging might occur on the blog (via voting polls) or super secret other blogger judges, or some combination of the two. Regardless, the top three entries will all be featured in a blog entry together so everyone can ooh and ah over them. Additionally and more importantly:

1st prize

I’ll do some art for the winner! If you’re a blogger, this could be a blog header, and even if you’re not a blogger, some full-colour character art for you.

2nd and 3rd prize

I’ll do art for you too! But a bit less elaborate, similar to Vid’s avatar in the right sidebar. It will be your own custom avatar of whatever character you might like!

Hey, I recognize that it’s not A NEWWWW CARRRR, but I hope it’s appropriate for a fun little contest.

All entries must be received by August 8th, after which the judging will take place. (If this doesn’t seem like enough time I’ll adjust it, but any changes to the contest will be posted here at Pugging Pally). I’m not going to commit to an exact date the results will be posted because it will depend on how many entries there are, but it should be sometime in August.

It was pointed out to me by a friend that I should state whether multiple entries are accepted. You can enter multiple times – but not more than three entries per person, I think that’s fair! If anyone is crazy enough to enter that many times…

If you have any comments, questions or clarifications you can post them here, e-mail, or tweet at me. If you have friends you think might be interested or want to post about this in your own blog, I won’t stop you. Otherwise, go forth, for GREAT FASHION!

28 responses to “The Well-Dressed Paladin: A Pugging Pally Contest!

  1. So now I know why it was I bothered to collect a paladin disguise!

  2. Hmmm… you have me tempted…

    Would it matter that my pally is a dwarf? 😛

  3. I think Souldat would kill me if I turned Parallel Context into Pally Central, but I am thinking about it.

    Do I have to have only one entry, or can I have one per Paladin toon? 😀

    (Too bad that the Draenei color scheme didn’t allow for red hair; all my other Pally toons have them!)

    • Maximum of three entries! How many paladins do you have, Redbeard? o_O Redheaded draenei would be pretty cool actually. They have purple skin, why not pigment for red hair…

      • Only three? Hmmm….

        I’ve got four at the moment, one for each race that can have a Pally. I was originally going to have two mains, one Horde and one Alliance, but my bank alt got pressed into service because Tomakan was too high a level to go questing with Souldat’s wife’s NE Druid. And yesterday was the 24 hour A-52 and Ysera downtime, so I selected another server and rolled up a Dwarf Paladin for kicks.

        (I’m not addicted! I swear! I have a mage! And… and… a Priest!)

      • Hahah, Redbeard. If you’re picking random servers to level Alliance pallies on you should’ve come and said hi! ;P You ARE a pally addict!

      • Hahah, Redbeard. If you’re picking random servers to level Alliance pallies on you should’ve come and said hi! ;P You ARE a pally addict!

        Well, if a random Dwarf wanders by and exclaims “Hey! It’s Vid!” then you’ll know it’s me. 😉

      • I’ll watch for it/you/yet another paladin. 😉

  4. Eeee, Vidyala, I’m so excited about this!

    And oh, wow, that watercolor of Vid is gorgeous! I like to draw and color, but watercolor painting is a technique I have yet to do much with, let alone master. 😀

    • Thanks Kamalia, I’m glad you like it. 😀 I had to tweak it a bit, it scanned in poorly, so it’s somewhat photoshopped. Your name was actually put forward as a potential judge, but 1) not sure if I will use judges or have people vote, and 2) it seemed you would be more likely to have fun entering! 😉 I had a hunch anyhow. I’m glad to hear I was right.

  5. OMG! The Prettiest Elf is ALL over this, darling.

  6. Vid, curses on me wasting my whole afternoon thinking up good paladin color schemes.

    Curses! 😛

  7. Expect pictures of Deyndor as soon as I find a good outfit!

  8. This looks great! (I love the picture of Vidyala at the top, is that a real watercolor?)

    I won’t be participating (I don’t know enough about gear anyway) but I can’t wait to see the entries!

    This is a great idea 😀

    • Thanks Anea, it should be fun! 😀 And yep, it’s “real,” although I had to doctor it a bit to fix the wrongs done to it by scanning. I darkened and duplicated a layer so it doesn’t look exactly like the actual painting does but fairly close. The colours here a bit muddier, something I try to avoid with actual watercolour.

      I think the entries will be fun to see!

  9. Speaking of the tuning fork shoulders. I guess you did not know that you could get the plate BOA chest and shoulders? They turn into mail items when your pally is too low for plate. Similarly hunters and shammies can wear the mail BOA items. Just FYI for your next leveling adventure!

    • You have got to be kidding me.

      Well, at least I haven’t moved my Priest over, so I guess he’ll get a few more heirlooms to piggyback with.

    • I had the plate BoA chest and shoulders (you can see them pictured in the header) for tanking/DPS but as I leveled Holy, they didn’t do me much good there. 🙂 There are plate spellpower BoA shoulders available from Wintergrasp, but no spellpower plate chestpiece, and I found the spellpower plate shoulders to be poorly itemized for PvE versus the mail spellpower ones.

  10. MAGES ARE WAY HOTTER!!!!

    That’s all I got.

  11. Pingback: The Well-Dressed Paladin « Kamalia et alia

Leave a comment